Module: WF-0051

Galápagos Islands: Safari

West of Ecuador, distributed around the equator in the Pacific Ocean, the Galápagos Islands are comprised of 13 main islands famed for their endemic species. First discovered in 1535, the islands were annexed by Ecuador in 1832, after which naturalist Charles Darwin made a scientific study of the geology and biology of the islands in 1835 upon the arrival of the survey ship HMS Beagle. One of the few places in the world without an indigenous population, five of the islands are inhabited by humans today. The Galápagos and their surrounding waters are home to approximately 9,000 wildlife species.

Retrieving your results.